Utah Concealed Carry Permit - Application Denial Criteria
All applicants for a Utah Concealed Carry Permit must be of "good character". You definitely do not want to have your Utah Concealed Firearm Permit application denied, so...
Below is a comprehensive listing of all the reasons why your application for a Utah Concealed Weapons Permit could be denied by BCI. The Utah CCW application process includes a thorough criminal history background search for convictions in all states, not just Utah. Wait times (before you will eligible to submit an application) for misdemeanor convictions, are as follows: Class-A (5-years); Class-B (4-years); and any other misdemeanor or infraction (3-years).
If you have any concerns or doubts about your ability to qualify for a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit, please be sure and consult your attorney, or contact BCI (801-965-4445 or www.BCI.Utah.gov) for clarification before you submit your application. They can also provide information relating to the process for expunging previous convictions from your criminal record. When assessing an applicants character, BCI may consider mitigating circumstances such as the length of time since an offense, or the number and type of offenses.
First, as of 5/11/11, a Non-Utah Resident, living in a state that recognizes Utah's permit, must now obtain a permit in their own home state, and attach a copy of it to their Utah Application. This also applies to renewals after 1/1/12. For more details, please read this article.
Here's the list:
- A DUI conviction within the past 6 years.
- Any Felony conviction (a crime with a jail term exceeding 1-year).
- Any conviction for a crime involving Domestic Violence in any state.
- A conviction for a crime of Moral Turpetude (fraud, theft, tax evasion, issuing bad checks, robbery, bribery, perjury, extortion, arson, criminal mischief, falsifying government records, forgery, receiving stolen property, burglary, vandalism, kidnapping).
- If you have an outstanding warrant for your arrest (a Wanted Person, or fugitive from justice).
- If you have a conviction for a Crime of Violence, or are a danger to yourself or others due to a past pattern of behavior or threats involving unlawful violence (including threats or attempts of suicide); or a juvenile delinquency in the past 7 years for an offense that would be violent if an adult.
- If you are the current subject of a Protective Order.
- If you have any conviction for any offense involving a Weapons Violation.
- If you have a conviction for any offense involving unlawful use of or possession of Narcotics or a controlled substance.
- You can not have been adjudicated by a state or federal court as being Mentally Incompetent to stand trial, been committed to a mental institution, or found not guilty by reason of insanity for a felony.
- If you are not qualified to purchase or possess a dangerous weapon or handgun pursuant to federal law (a Restricted Person).
- You can not be an Illegal Alien.
- You can not have been Dishonorably Discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces.
- You can not have Renounced your U.S. Citizenship.
We cover this topic thoroughly in our Utah Concealed Carry Permit Class, which we teach on multiple days every week. Please visit our website for complete details, including a calendar of available class dates, and click on this reviews link to learn what previous attendees have written about their experience with us. If you have further questions, please free to give me a call.
Mike Munnerlyn, Instructor
Utah Concealed Weapons Permit
I am currently retired from teaching regularly scheduled classes while building a house. I will now only teach a private class for groups of 10 or more. Please call me for details.
Follow Us On Facebook