New Changes to Utah Concealed Carry Permit for Non-Residents
Utah's Legislature passed the First Substitute Senate Bill 36, effective on 10 May 2011, and changes the issuance of Utah Concealed Carry Permits to non-residents.
The new bill provides that a nonresident shall:
- First hold a permit from his/her state of residency, if that state recognizes Utah's permit, and attach a photocopy of his residency state permit to the Utah application.
- Pay a $5 increase in the application fee ($65.00), to cover the increased cost of processing a nonresident application.
- Also, beginning on 1 Jan. 2012, all nonresident permit renewal applicants must first have received a permit in their state of residency (if that state recognizes Utah's permit).
- Note - the requirement to have first obtained a permit from the state of residency does not apply to nonresidents whose state of residency does not recognize Utah's permit. (ie: CA, NV, OR, NM, KS...)
Please contact us, or register online to attend an upcoming Utah Concealed Carry class. More class information is available at the link below to our website.
Mike Munnerlyn, Instructor
Utah Concealed Weapons Permit
I am currently retired from teaching regularly scheduled classes while building a house. I will now only teach a private class for groups of 10 or more. Please call me for details.
Follow Us On Facebook