Utah Gun Law Changes by 2012 Legislature
1st Substitute H.B. 395 passed the Senate and is awaiting the Governor's signature. This bill will help protect and benefit law-abiding gun owners, by repealing the current law that requires the immediate suspension of a Utah CCW permit holder's permit simply for being charged with a crime. The new law will require a person to be convicted of the charge before his permit can be suspended. You know, it's the whole "innocent until proven guilty" thing. This bill will also fix a provision of the current law that didn't allow a restricted person to lawfully sell (dispose of) his firearms, and will also help to target "straw purchasers" who are attempting to illegally purchase firearms.
3rd Substitute H.B. 49 was attempting to fix some language that was enabling law enforcement in some jurisdictions to arrest people who were legally carrying a firearm and doing nothing illegal and charge them with disorderly conduct. The Legislature ran out of time to fix this problem, so this bill died.
CFP Application Fee Reduced: BCI has notified me that, beginning April 1, 2012, the new Utah Concealed Firearm Permit application fee for Utah Residents will be reduced from the current $60.00 to $46.00 (Non-residents fee will be $51.00).
We will try and update you right away of any other changes as we become aware of them, so keep checking back...
Utah Concealed Weapons Permit
I am currently retired from teaching. My son-in-law Rob Wilkinson, who used to teach with me, is now teaching on his own. Please call him at 801-671-6773.
Follow Us On Facebook